The Green Fortune

Maybe because I am flying to the Emerald Isle in just 49 days I am attracted to all things green. No, not money. Not envy, greed. Think health. Today I touched weeds, basil, zucchini, and my own moss colored carpet. The garden’s growth has reached the top of the cliff this final week of July and it is ready to throw its harvest over the edge. Here I am, basket in hand, ready to take on cords of squash and colorful purple beets. All that green covers up the jewels. Ruby tomatoes, yellow sapphire squash, and rose quartz turnips – what richness!

One over-grown zucchini begged me to give him a massage-shred into a cinnamony loaf of bread. So I did. In fact, I tried out two recipes and made enough for 2 large and 3 mini loaves. For the minis, I combined honey, milk, coconut oil, cinnamon, flour, and egg. Supposedly, this is a healthy version! In comparison, my original recipe called for 2 1/2 cups of sugar…yikes! Plus a cup of oil, more eggs and flour, and vanilla. Both came out splendidly. Just don’t tell anyone the difference. Next time, however, I would add in raisins or nuts. You can’t argue with a baked good, no matter what is in it, if it has the green goodness.

Immediately after popping those loaves out of the hot oven (on this 90 degree day), I gathered 4 cups of basil from the garden and pureed a delicious pesto! One half cup of toasted pine nuts swirled together in that dark green gyre with Parmesan, lemon, garlic, and oil. Knowing that I would not cook with pesto for at least several days, I poured teh stuff into ice cube trays and froze them. When I’m ready to cook, I will simply pop a few cubes from the freezer and mix into spaghetti. Presto!

FullSizeRender (10)

Ah yes, the third green item – kale. The holy grail power green. I munched on kale chips and hummus for lunch, then washed it down with a frosty glass of water. As you might guess -more green – floating in the water. Cucumber and mint! The classics. It appears my theme for the healthy day continues. Thank you, garden.

And see you soon, Ireland.

2 thoughts on “The Green Fortune

Leave a Reply

